This is where the discovery of the new continent began

Christopher Columbus was born in the Republic of Genoa in 1451. He started his expedition in Genoa in 1492, which led him to discover America.

Italy > Liguria

The region of Liguria is located in the northwest of Italy. The capital is the metropolitan city of Genoa. With 1,502,943 inhabitants living on 5,418.21 km², Liguria is the third smallest region in Italy in terms of area. The population density of 277.39 inhabitants per km² is above average. The region borders France in the west. Liguria is a member of the transnational Alpi-Mediterraneo/Alpes-Méditerranée Euroregion. The coastal region between the border with France and Genoa is called the Riviera di Levante. The coastal region east of Genoa, meanwhile, is known as the Riviera di Ponente.

Liguria consists of three provinces and metropolitan city of Genoa, which we would like to introduce to you here.

  • Genoa – Brief info with map available here: GENOA
  • Imperia – Brief info with map available here: IMPERIA
  • La Spezia – Brief info with map available here: LA SPEZIA
  • Savona – Brief info with map available here: SAVONA

Liguria captivates with its picturesque places.