Everything your heart desires

Veneto offers a diversity that is rarely found in such a small area. The region is characterized by the beauty of Lake Garda, the charm of the Dolomites, the sea of Jesolo, the hills with their vineyards and its thermal baths, but also by its artistic and historical heritage. Veneto is home to elegant cities such as Venice and Verona.

Italy > Veneto

Veneto is a region in the north-east of Italy and one of the most prosperous regions in the country. The region stretches from the Venetian lagoon in the east to the Alps in the north. It borders Lake Garda in the west and the Emilia-Romagna region in the south. 4,847,745 inhabitants (as of January 1, 2022) live on 18,345.37 km².

Veneto is known for its beautiful landscape, rich culture and unique history. The region is home to some of Italy’s most famous cities, such as Venice, Verona, Padua and Vicenza.

The capital of the region is Venice. Venice is one of the most beautiful cities in the world and is famous for its canals, bridges and historic buildings. The city is also famous for its art, music and theater traditions, especially the Carnival and the Venice Biennale.

Verona is a historic city known for its Roman ruins, medieval churches and the world-famous Roman amphitheater. The opera festival takes place in Verona every year. Padua is an old university city. The city became famous for its churches and botanical gardens, which are among the oldest and largest in Europe.

Veneto is also known for its cuisine, which is influenced by Italian and Austrian cuisine. Some of the region’s most famous dishes are risotto al nero di seppia (risotto with squid ink), bigoli (a type of thick spaghetti) and polenta, a corn porridge served with various side dishes.

Veneto is also a well-known wine-growing region and produces some of Italy’s most famous wines such as Amarone, Prosecco and Soave. The region is also known for its architecture and handicrafts, such as glassblowing in Murano and jewelry making in Vicenza.

The region has a rich history, an important culture and an enchanting landscape. Visitors can choose from a wide range of sights and activities.

Veneto consists of 6 provinces and the metropolitan city of Venice, which we would like to introduce to you here.

  • Belluno – Brief info with map available here: BELLUNO
  • Padua – Brief info with map available here: PADUA
  • Rovigo – Brief info with map available here: ROVIGO
  • Treviso – Brief info with map available here: TREVISO
  • Venice – Brief info with map available here: VENICE
  • Verona – Brief info with map available here: VERONA
  • Vicenza – Brief info with map available here: VICENZA

Veneto is a popular destination for art and culture enthusiasts as well as nature lovers and gourmets.