On the roof of Europe

The Aosta Valley is considered the roof of Europe, as it is home to the highest mountains in the Alps. The peaks that are over 4000 meters high include Mont Blanc, Monte Rosa, the Matterhorn and the Gran Paradiso. With more than 200 glaciers, the region has one of the largest water reserves in Italy.

Italy > Aosta Valley

Valle d’Aosta is an autonomous region in the northwest of Italy, bordering France and Switzerland. The region is known for its alpine landscape, its historic towns and its excellent cuisine. The region has a population of 123,360 (as of January 1, 2022) living on an area of 3,260.85 km².

The landscape of the Aosta Valley is dominated by the Alps, including the highest mountain in Europe, Mont Blanc. The region is a popular destination for winter sports such as skiing and snowboarding. But the mountains and valleys also offer a spectacular backdrop for hiking and mountaineering in summer.

The region has a rich history and was part of the Roman Empire and later of the Kingdom of Sardinia and the Kingdom of Italy. The historic towns such as Aosta, the capital of the region, and Courmayeur offer many historical and cultural sights, including Roman ruins, medieval churches and castles.

The cuisine of the Aosta Valley is characterized by the influences of the French and Italian cuisine. It offers a variety of regional dishes such as fondue, raclette, tarte tatin and polenta concia, a traditional polenta variant with cheese and butter. The Aosta Valley is also famous for its wines. The white wine Blanc de Morgex et de La Salle and the red wine Torrette are particularly famous. The region is also known for its cheese production, especially Fontina cheese.

The Aosta Valley is a unique and fascinating region of Italy, characterized by breathtaking beauty and rich history and culture.

The Aosta Valley is not divided into provinces. It consists of 74 municipalities, which we would like to introduce to you here.

  • Allein
  • Antey-Saint-André
  • Aosta
  • Arnad
  • Arvier
  • Avise
  • Ayas
  • Aymavilles
  • Bard
  • Bionaz
  • Brissogne
  • Brusson
  • Challand-Saint-Anselme
  • Challand-Saint-Victor
  • Chambave
  • Chamois
  • Champdepraz
  • Champorcher
  • Charvensod
  • Châtillon
  • Cogne
  • Courmayeur
  • Donnas
  • Doues
  • Emarèse
  • Etroubles
  • Fontainemore
  • Fénis
  • Gaby
  • Gignod
  • Gressan
  • Gressoney-La-Trinité
  • Gressoney-Saint-Jean
  • Hône
  • Introd
  • Issime
  • Issogne
  • Jovençan
  • La Magdeleine
  • La Salle
  • La Thuile
  • Lillianes
  • Montjovet
  • Morgex
  • Nus
  • Ollomont
  • Oyace
  • Perloz
  • Pollein
  • Pont-Saint-Martin
  • Pontboset
  • Pontey
  • Pré-Saint-Didier
  • Quart
  • Rhêmes-Notre-Dame
  • Rhêmes-Saint-Georges
  • Roisan
  • Saint-Christophe
  • Saint-Denis
  • Saint-Marcel
  • Saint-Nicolas
  • Saint-Oyen
  • Saint-Pierre
  • Saint-Rhémy-en-Bosses
  • Saint-Vincent
  • Sarre
  • Torgnon
  • Valgrisenche
  • Valpelline
  • Valsavarenche
  • Valtournenche
  • Verrayes
  • Verrès
  • Villeneuve

The Aosta Valley is the smallest region in Italy and is known for its cultural proximity to France.